Martin Svatoš



Martin Svatoš, Ph.D. is one of the leading Czech mediators and arbitrators. He is the Head of the ADR Centre of the Charles University School of Law. His experiences in alternative dispute resolution were appreciated when he became the President of the Working group of the ICC Czech Republic for Mediation and a member of the Board of the Czech Arbitration Court. In 2016, he acted as a member of the Czech delegation to the UNCITRAL WG II.

Martin has mediated more than 500 both international and domestic disputes. He is listed by the Ministry of Justice of the Czech Republic and by the Energy Community and on the joint WIPO-CAM Panel of Mediators. Martin has acted in several arbitrations both as chairman, member of the tribunal, and of counsel. He has been listed as arbitrator by the VIAC, Arbitration Court of the Czech Football Association, Czech Arbitration Court and International Commodity Exchange Arbitration Court).

Martin lectures at Charles University in Prague (Czech Republic) and at the Seminar of European and Comparative Law in Urbino (Italy) where he is in charge of the negotiation, mediation, and arbitration courses. In the past, he was a visiting professor at the University of the French West Indies in Guadeloupe. He also gave speeches at the Faculté Libre de Droit Institut Catholique de Toulouse (France), Georgetown University (USA), Comenius University in Bratislava (Slovakia), Shanghai University of Political Science and Law, Shanghai University of Finance and Economics (both PRC) and many others. He publishes and gives speeches at international conferences on a regular basis. He is one of the co-editors of the EU Mediation Handbook (Kluwer International, 2017) and the author of many books and papers. As a speaker, he attended many international conferences all around the globe (the UIA World Forum of Mediation Centres, the IBA Annual Conference, the German Arbitration Institute Annual Conference, the Conference of the Mediators’ Institute of Ireland in Dublin and at several YIAG conferences (Istanbul, Warsaw)).

Other Members